Grillin’ With Wood

My vintage Weber grill is rapidly approaching the end of its usefulness.

There is a hole rusted through the bottom, one of the vent covers has corroded off and the lid handle is about to fall off. When we lived in town one of the neighbor kids used it for target practice with his BB gun.
I have been looking for something to replace the Weber and I also got to thinking, why am I paying for charcoal to grill?

So I started looking for something that would burn wood. For some reason most everything that burns wood is on the ground like a fire ring or a grate over a fire pit. Now I really don’t like to bend over to grill so this was a problem. Then I thought about the grills you see in parks. I think they are really intended for charcoal but they are open and you can easily burn and tend a wood fire in them.
Turns out there is a company right here in Iowa that makes park grills Pilot Rock.

Their grills are intended to be permanently mounted in concrete but I really want mine to be moveable. Instead of putting the base in concrete I welded the support tube to a plate welded to a truck brake drum. That brake drum weighs more than the grill. The next thing to figure out is where/how to store some firewood and keep it dry.

First burgers on the grill.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

